The return of the pessimist

It’s been three months to the day since I left Alaska. I didn’t blog for the majority of the summer because it was a lot of stress, frustration, and general sweary-ness. From late paperwork to incompetent coworkers, ridiculous management and disruptive living situations, I don’t have a lot of positive things to say about the people or the organization I worked with.

Needless to say, having a ‘real’ job is downright unappealing.

That being said, I loved Alaska. I am so happy that I moved to Sitka and got to play with their kick ass roller derby team. I made a few friends I really like. I did enjoy being a tour guide and was, to toot my own horn, pretty stinking good at it. I loved the mountains, got to see whales for the first time, and hiked my heart out. The air was fresh and I learned so much about the history of that incredible place. I was sad to leave, but oh so happy to be gone.

During the summer I planned a trip to Central America, a trip I am currently still on. I have been travelling for two months funded by that job I disliked so much, so I suppose that’s my silver lining. I have no life plan, but lots of continued travel plans.

Although I’m in the last few days of this trip, I’m blogging about it from the beginning. It was hard for me to carve out time to write my stories while I was travelling because there was always so much to do, even when ‘so much’ meant sitting on a beach and watching people surf. It’s amazing how things can slow down and go so fast all at the same time.

Mexico.

Cuba.

Belize.

Guatemala.

El Salvador.

25 countries in 25 years. Here’s to 25 more!

Leave a Reply

