Casablanca and Rabat

The bus back to Marrakech left at 6:30 the next morning… at least there was coffee. I said goodbye to my host who really had given me a great start to the whole Couchsurfing thing in Morocco.

Survived the long ride back to Marrakech and caught a train to Casablanca, where after a couple transportation mishaps managed to meet up with my next host. I only got to stay with her for one night, but she and her housemates were really nice! Getting there late and waking up early had me all out of sorts, so I did what any woman raised in the greater Seattle area would do… I found a Starbucks.

You can judge me, I don’t care. I wanted that caramel macchiato real bad.

So, in the comfort of the green mermaid, I browsed the interwebs and got some work done in a place where no one knew me and I didn’t have to socialize. Huzzah!

To break the funk and to get my fill of my short time in Casablanca I headed just up the road to the world’s second largest mosque, which was pretty impressive. Since it was Friday the mosque wasn’t open for tourists, but I enjoyed the view and the call to prayer anyways.

P1070950

P1070951

Unfortunately on my way back I saw a dead kitten and a kitten that was still alive, but had recently been hit by a car and was all twitchy and bloody. So that made me kind of really sad.

Injured kitties aside, Casablanca was really beautiful and I wish I could spend more time there. But, onwards to Rabat!

P1070953

My host in Rabat found me at the train station after I’d eaten all the things and drank all the coffee, at least what I could within my budget. His flat was really close to a mosque which gave me flashbacks to one of my flats in Jordan.

20160115_174420

The view of Rabat from his roof was great, and he gave me lots of recommendations for things to see around the city.

My Rabat host was nice, but a bit nervous seeming. He didn’t seem to know what to do with me, which is fine- I can entertain myself, and don’t mind having an excuse not to socialize sometimes. We managed to make it through coffee and breakfast together before parting ways, me to explore and he to do whatever it is Moroccan engineering students do on weekends.

Rabat is a gloriously chill city, right on the water, historic and quiet. It even has a massive library!

P1070991

Leave a Reply

